Aditi Balaji
1 min readJun 7, 2021

--

Hello Sarah! Thank you so much for reading my article and sharing your story too!

It really sucks that we're subject to such ridiculous comments and prejudices in this day and age. And oh about the wedding pictures - I TOTALLY relate!! I'm hardly smiling in any of my wedding pictures because I was so damn uncomfortable in old-fashioned clothes and unnecessary makeup, performing sexist religious rituals that I didn't want. In fact, the entire wedding shenanigan was only done because my partner and I didn't want to hurt the sentiments of people close to us, and we STILL keep receiving comments like "why didn't you smile more?"

And it's so freaking cool that you're a human rights lawyer, you're basically like some superhuman to me just because of that. If people can't see your value, it's their loss, girl! Let haters be haters.

I'm going to check out your articles, and I'm looking forward to reading your stuff too :) Let me know if you want to work together, or form a writing group to help each other grow! I'm looking to make new friends, and I'd love to get to know you!

--

--

Aditi Balaji

Writing about relationships. feminism and books. I’m an introvert, a fantasy/sci-fi nerd, and a dog mom.